Turkey Salad

I present the primal turkey salad, a satisfactory treat for leftover turkey!

Canadian Thanksgiving has proven itself, once again, the perfect holiday for primal gluttony.  We topped our turkey-fest off with an amazing paleo pumpkin pie and cups of excellent coffee.  I’ll admit, I was walking slowly.

For years my favorite post-feast item was the perfect turkey sandwich; loaded with a mild, white onion, mayo and plenty of salt and pepper.  Of course, the sandwich has lost its appeal entirely.  In spite of the non-primal crowd contaminating my kitchen with loaves of gluten (hastily purchased when they got wind of my menu – grrrr), I was not even tempted.  So, I needed to come up with a satisfactory alternative that celebrated the marriage of cold turkey and raw onion.  I was going for a background with more interest and flavour than mayo and a bun.  I’d say I’ve found it.

The cranberries carry a bit of sweetness to offset the raw onion and the dressing carries a tangy kick underscored by the herbs you’d expect with the richness of roasted turkey.  This version is a recipe for one:

On a generous bed of mixed greens or fresh spinach, place

  • 1 cup chopped, roasted turkey
  • ¼ cup cranberries (I used dried)
  • 3 slices of a mild, white onion (more or less as you desire)

In a small cup, prepare the dressing:

  • 3 T white wine vinegar
  • 2 T grapeseed oil
  • 1 t poultry seasoning (or a combination of sage, thyme and rosemary)
  • generous sprinkle sea salt
  • generous sprinkle coarsely ground black pepper

Wisk the dressing together and pour over your salad.  Enjoy!

Just for your amusement, the non-primal quote of the weekend (be sure to read aloud with an air of superiority).

“No thanks.  I don’t eat all this greasy stuff.  I survived the war years on porridge and mother’s rye bread.  That’s what I eat.  Sometimes for breakfast and supper.  Porridge and good, dark rye bread.  Why can’t I find your oats?  And why are you out of bread?”

Leave a Reply

