Primal Sloppy Joe

Begin with coconut bread, made in muffin form, sliced thin.

Add piles of savoury, saucy meat and veggie slop (being sure to omit legumes and conventional seasoning mixes).

Eat with utensils.  And napkins.

With half a cow in the freezer, ground beef is my go-to quick meal these days.  If I haven’t planned ahead, a frozen chunk goes in the pot and I start to dig in the fridge for a supplemental mixture of veggies.

This time, I started by mixing up a batch of coconut bread, to which I also added about 3T of ground flax.  At Amanda‘s suggestion, I made it up in muffins which I was then able to slice into four pieces each – top to bottom.  Coconut bread is very filling and a bit crumbly.  The cute little rounds we made were also perfect for tiny legal sandwiches that the girls took the next day on their school lunches.

To my ground beef (about 3 lbs), I added …

  • one large can of crushed tomatoes (no salt added)
  • 2 c of minced cauliflower
  • 1 c of very finely chopped fresh spinach
  • one medium onion, finely chopped
  • two cloves of crushed garlic
  • five stalks of finely chopped celery
  • 1 1/2 T chili powder
  • 1/2 T cumin
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

My spices here come with a “to taste” caveat – I’m not so much a measure-r as a taste-and-see kind of girl.  Adjust as needed!  This was a mild version intended to disguise the veggies and appeal to the preschoolers.

What I will specify:  it was nutritious, toddler-friendly, extremely tasty and it went down with zero complaints.  Hooray for Primal Sloppy Joe!

Leave a Reply

