I Love Tomatoes

If I were to choose one food that shines in its organic, locally grown form, the tomato would be it.  Real tomatoes – even the ones that ripen in the basement months after the first frost – mock the firm, tasteless versions available in big-box grocery stores for most of the year.

My mom always grows Cobra staking tomatoes.  I’ve mentioned her greenhouse, but have I mentioned that she waters with warm water?  She prunes and ties up her plants so that they grow into perfect towers of production.  It is entirely possible that she sings to them on star-lit nights.  Whatever her secret, they are abundant and amazing.

In lieu of the tomatoes-on-toast I ate every day for years through this season, this has been breakfast lately:  Two giant slices of tomato, half an avocado, three or four slices of bacon and two fried eggs.  Not too shabby… this baby was the size of a pie plate.

Only one of my girls really loves tomatoes, but I presented them in a kids’ lunch the other day and they went down smoothly.

Tomato, Chicken and Bacon Lunch

  • 4 slices of bacon, cut cross-ways
  • ¼ a small onion
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut in strips
  • 3 – 5 ripe tomatoes
  • half an avocado
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a hot skillet, fry bacon in bits.  When it is almost done, add onion and sauté until soft.  Remove bacon and onion from pan.  Turn up the heat to medium-high and fast-fry chicken.  When cooked, stir in bacon and onion, then remove from heat and cover.

Dice the tomatoes and avocado and stir together with a small amount of salt and pepper.  Serve a scoop of chicken with a scoop of tomato and avocado on top.

I cut up my chicken the night before and put it in the fridge in a small container.  You could also easily use leftover chicken.  Total cook time is less than 10 minutes.

5 responses

  1. Pingback: I Love Tomatoes | Paleo Digest

  2. I’m going to try this with my crew! We have boxes of tomatoes ripening in our basement. My son would happily walk around eating them like apples, but I’m thinking a little variety might be good 🙂

Leave a Reply

